A gym success and a lamictal lament

Garfield was right; a calorie IS a measure of how good food tastes.

Garfield was right; a calorie is a measure of how good food tastes.

You don’t need the details of my gym visit.  The main thing is I went and I feel good for it, although I’d feel better if I’d managed not to consume a fair amount of ice-cream when I got home, there are after all a few dresses I’d like to be able to breathe freely in again.  I like to think that the gym/ice-cream combination has had a positive effect on my mood however, so overall I made good choices.

Not all is well in the healthy-body-healthy-mind hood though.  One thing I failed to remember -not- to- forget -about is just how much my skin hates exercise.  Or rather how much my skin on Lamotrigine (Lamictal) hates it.  Lamotrigine makes you sweat pine needles.  Really *cue tiny violins in background* and don’t talk to me about spots.  Lamotrigine is a wonderful world away from the cosh-to-the-head of other mood-stabilisers, in my bitter experience, but it does do weird stuff to the skin.  I suppose there are worse things though.  Suicidal depression and mind-altering hypo-mania being just two of them.

Anyway, having not bored you at all with any of these things I’m off to bed with headspace (I’m still doing it! Go me!) and some mint-tea.  Rock n Roll.

Of course I prefer tea to wine *weeps quietly*

Of course I prefer tea to wine *weeps quietly*

3 responses to “A gym success and a lamictal lament

  1. Bored? Never. Love the tiny violins in the background.

    Like

  2. Hey 🙂
    Im on lamictal, I gym and enjoy my sweets too, I’ve found since being on lamictal that my skin will break out or get raised dots. Are you the same? Haha at least with lamictal I don’t gain weight anymore 🙂

    Like

    • Hello 🙂 Yeah, I get the skin-dots- thing, what’s that all about? They’re not pimples (although I’m no stranger to those) so you can’t even zap them. Pretty sure lamictal isn’t responsible for the extra pound or two I’m carrying though – that’s down to Ben & Jerry…

      Like

Leave a Reply

