A Mindful Success (& an unusual encounter with wind-chimes and whispers)

I finally managed to to see this ‘Mindful Body Scan’ exercise through to the end  http://www.freemindfulness.org/download   (Body Scan, 45 minute version).

It is very restful (which is why I kept drifting off to sleep initially) but the best thing about it is that makes you focus on your body.  Now, I might think about my body if I stub my toe, or if I’m cursing my pathetic muscles at the gym, or if I have a sore throat…you get the picture –  I live in my head most of the time.   Getting out of my mind is good for me and this is a nice calm  (not to mention legal) way to do that.

The audio on the download is a bit fuzzy, but I liked that, less clinical.  There are lots of versions of this exercise out there though.  There are shorter clips on the site I link to above and you can convert Youtube versions into mp3 using http://www.listentoyoutube.com/index.php  as long as you are careful to dodge all the annoying ads.

Now, in my quest for meditation information I did a lot of googling, as you can imagine, and wandered around YouTube – at times lost, at times afraid.  And it was during this time that I wandered upon a thing called ASMR which I had never heard of before.  This article kind of sums up some of the concerns about it as a Youtube pheomenon http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-30412358  There is definitely  something kind of fetish-y about some of it.  You can go through a whole ASMR spa experience, an ear-cleaning… No really.  It’s true.  For reals.  With videos.  And lip gloss.

BPDOESNTKNOW

And yet, although I was too timid to go near anything labelled ‘role play’, I did listen to some  popular ASMR sounds and overall it put me in mind of my mum brushing my hair when I was small (without the nasty tangle ouches) ultimately a very comforting and non-fetish-y experience .   And I suppose, in the midst of a depressive episode, you might struggle to find someone prepared to brush your hair whilst you pace/weep/slump attractively.  Or to just chatter and eat chocolate at you without expecting any active human responses. It’s not the same thing, but it could make you feel a bit less awful.  Or it might just be really creepy.  Who can say.  But anyway, it’s out there.  So here’s a whisper-y man who’ll ask how your day went

 http://asmrer.asmr.fm/?v=yAbKYzQy5VE

And a whispy-voiced lady who’ll take you on a very sweet, rainy walk towards self-worth (don’t look at the pocket watch…)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nWihEWBRAY

You can make up your own mind.  Whatever works man, whatever works.

Leave a Reply

